Senior Reflects on Last Baseball Season

Alex Jones

Alex Jones


By Nigel Broadnax and Devon Hall

Alejandro “Alex” Jones is currently playing second baseman in his senior season for Lincoln University’s baseball team. He’s seen a lot through three plus years with the team, but this season he’s taking it all in as he finishes up his last campaign. He has learned to appreciate certain things that he won’t be able to do for much longer.

“You really don’t know how much you love something until it’s gone,” Jones says of playing baseball for the Lions during his final few weeks. “I am taking everything in from six am practices, road trips to North Carolina and every second playing the game I love.”

In addition to using this season to enjoy the little things, Jones also has had more responsibility this season as he is one of just three seniors on the team.

“The difference between this season as opposed to others, is the fact that I am looked up to as a senior,” he says of his new role. “It’s been my job to make sure all of the younger players do what is needed for us to succeed.”

Lincoln baseball’s on-field success has been inconsistent during Jones’ tenure.

This season the Lions have one only one game, standing 1-16 overall. They recently suffered a 9-game losing streak.

“I asked coach (jokingly) do we need Yao Ming to play first base. It seems like no one can catch over there, that’s why we get a lot of errors,” said Doug Cook, pitcher.

Despite that, Jones and his teammates still have the bar set high as far as goals for the season.
“Our goal is to make the CIAA (Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association) Tournament,” Jones said of the team’s aim for the season. “We also want to come out as the best in our division.”

While the seasons Jones has spent with the Lions haven’t been the best, he feels confident about the future of the Lincoln baseball program.

“The talent on this team now is much higher than years past,” he says. “The program that Coach (Anthony) Plá has built is working and you can see the talented players he’s bringing to the university’s program. Things should be good for years to come.”

Jones values everything he’s experienced as a member of Lincoln’s baseball team. His love for the program has nothing to do with wins or losses.

“It’s been a great ride being a Lincoln Lion,” Jones says as he looks back on his college career thus far. “I have learned a lot as a player and as a man. Being a walk-on my freshman year, I worked hard to get to the point I am today and to become the player I always knew I could be.”
He also expressed how he’ll feel once he’s finally done.

“I will truly miss college baseball and especially my team who I consider my family,” he says. We have had our ups and downs but all together I have enjoyed my experience as a Lincoln Lion baseball player.”

Jones will play his final regular season game on Sunday, April 13 as the Lions face Winston Salem State University.

Leave a Reply

