SGA Candidates: In Their Own Words

By Jocelyn Haslon

The following is a set of questions answered and submitted by the 2014 candidates for Student Government Association.

Aside from formatting changes, the content of their answers has not been altered.

Read and assess who your choice should be for the next generation of Lincoln’s student leadership.

Christian Darius Alexander

Computer Science

President

Slogan

The right person, for the right reasons!!!  I am a man of many solutions and wish to use all my efforts and knowledge to :

Platform Initiatives

  • Serve the student body and its concerns.
  • Beautifying the campus.
  • Increase student population.
  • Unify the faculty, staff, administration and students to create a more respected atmosphere amongst the campus.
  • Raise the amount of male leadership.

What will you bring to your desired position?

I plan to be a different type of President for Lincoln. I want represent the university and the students at all times. SGA is always a networking body and I want to bring more to Lincoln.

Ephraim Burgess

Information Technology

Vice President of External Affairs

Campaign Slogan

Vote for me Ephraim Burgess; I’m putting a plan in action for your satisfaction!

Platform Initiatives

  • Enhance social aspect of the campus.
  • Campus collaborative with HBCU’s & schools in surrounding areas.
  • Bring fortune 100 companies for job affairs.
  • Enhance intellectual aspect of the campus.

What will you bring to your desired position?

It is my desire to bring ambition, loyalty, and faith to the Vice President of External Affairs position. My ambition is geared towards the progression of my peers; since I was young I knew that my purpose in life is to serve young people. Based upon my experiences in life I’ve learned how to hold my head high and persevere. So with the knowledge I have about seeing life’s adversities through I feel obligated to share my wisdom. Not only am I loyal to my family and friends but I’m loyal to the goals I’ve set in my life. I’m loyal to my word, I remember my grandfather telling me as a young boy that a man’s word is the only valuable he has to offer that won’t cost the next man anything. As a Christian man my faith is always in God but I share the same faith with those who I believe to be trustworthy, loyal, and just as ambitious as I am.

Charles Strother

Mass Communications

Vice President of External Affairs

Campaign Slogan
“Let’s Give Our Students A Reason to Them Why”

My slogan is saying that the plans I have for the future will be eventful and enjoyable for our student body to be proud they represent The first HBCU.

Platform Initiatives

Unifying our campus and giving back to the community to better market ourselves.

What will you bring to your desired position?

I would bring faith, ideas and leadership to the Vice President of External Affairs position as well as opportunities to get more involved.

Nicole Webb

Mass Communications

Vice President of External Affairs

Campaign Slogan

My current campaign slogan is “I’ve Got Your Back, Will You Have Mine?” I chose this slogan because I wanted to involve the campus in my campaign; I wanted them to know that they are just as important to me and that me running for this position is more so about them, than it is me. By electing me to represent them as their next VP of External Affairs, that means they are entrusting me to represent them to the best of my capability; they trust me to hear their concerns and truly act on their behalf. Being a part of SGA as an Executive Assistant for the past two years, I’ve had their backs by shadowing the previous and current SGA members and voicing, as a student, the concerns of the students and myself to SGA representatives. Running for SGA means that I am vowing to have your back and hear your concerns, then taking action & that is what I am going to do if elected.

Platform Initiatives

My platforms for this position can be summed up in what I call “Operation L.I.O.N.” The acronym L.I.O.N.

represents Lead. Influence. Optimize. & Network. My vision for the position is to LEAD by example and serve the student body, so that I can INFLUENCE the student body to be the change we all want to see. Then, by being OPTIMISTIC, I believe that together the students & SGA will be able to create better opportunities for the university as a whole. And lastly, NETWORKING is a major aspect of this position. In a sense you are the student publicist for the university; you represent the university on behalf of the students in the face of other universities, potential students, alumni and potential artists for major events.

What will you bring to your desired position?

I will most definitely bring my knowledge of this position. I served as an Executive Assistant to previous SGA President DeWayne Walker Jr. and I am currently an EA for Lowell Howard, our current VP of External Affairs. DeWayne and Lowell have taught me so much about SGA & what it means to really represent the student body because that’s what this really is about; the STUDENTS coming first. I will also bring my experience in public relations. I have worked as a communications and marketing intern in the public relations department of UpLift! Group, an urban gospel management agency for the past two years. When it comes to booking artists and/or speakers for different events, I’ll know how to conduct business and understand what really is going on because I have that experience & I’ve studied it as a science. I will also bring my love for Lincoln. In order for you to be a successful SGA member, I believe that the most important aspect you must have is to love Lincoln, you have to love its family and you have to understand its legacy.

 

Samantha Fitzpatrick

Vice President of Internal Affairs

Campaign Slogan

The slogan “It Just Fitz” came about as a play on words making reference to a key fitting in a lock. As a part of the campaign we made and distributed key chains made with recycled bottle caps to emphasize the importance of going green.

Platform Initiatives

The primary goal of my platform is to instill a stronger sense of Lincoln pride. When the students are proud, it inspires other to support the mission of a University. An initiative I seek to put into action is “Lions Day on The Hill”. This would be an opportunity for a group of students to travel to Harrisburg and meet with congressmen and women to rally support for the nation’s first HBCU. Working with students, I will seek to begin an initiative to change the social image of the university by generating more positive pieces to market the university (videos, updated information for the student organizations’ websites, etc.). This initiative would go so far as the development of a student recruitment team. Smaller goals include, but are not limited to: efforts to establish more convenient library and wellness center hours and improved response times for maintenance requests.

What will you bring to your desired position?

I feel that my strong communication skills enable me to represent, not only the students of the university to administration, but also The Lincoln University as a whole.
Additionally, I am sure that my enthusiasm and passion for my alma mater will shine in the presence of outside constituencies. I understand the importance of maintaining a positive image of the university and striving to improve the negative opinions and dispel rumors.

Monah Clark

Biology

Executive Secretary

Campaign Slogan

My slogan is “Connecting Our Community through Communication”. That focuses on increasing student involvement, decreasing student apathy, and highlighting the power, which is our voice, within our university.

Platform Initiatives

  • Secretary’s Cabinet which will have all of the secretaries for the organizations to convene, share information, and communicate issues so that I can get the information out to the students. The students should be aware of what is going on campus.
  • Interactive and Engaging update on the current SGA page on the university website
  • Online Live Feed Bulletin Board to keep students updated on events

What will you bring to your desired position?

  • My love for Lincoln University
  • My leadership Experience from positions on and off  campus that have given me the ability to be productive, effective, able to communicate with others, and come up with conflict resolutions.

I am here to serve the students. I want to take the steps to make a change to help and better this university.

Olutoyin Olowookere

Business Management

Executive Secretary

Campaign Slogan

My campaign slogan is “Toy 4 Us” which means I will put your concerns first, develop solutions, and re-install Lincoln Pride. One of the ways I put the students concerns first is by making sure that every student’s concerns are documented by creating a form online for students to put their concerns into. I want to end the lack of communication between SGA, the administration and the students. I want to create a form on the school website that is updated bi-weekly called “What’s Going on at SGA?” so that students can be notified about what is going on currently instead of finding out after the fact. It will be my job to distribute the information to the students.

We need to reinstall Lincoln Pride. We do have greatness within us and we should not settle.

Platform Initiatives

  • Concern Board in the Café
  • Developing Solutions
  • Bring the university together by working with the Vice President of External Affairs
  • Reaching the students

What will you bring to your desired position?

I will bring life, enthusiasm, consistency, resiliency, inspiration to my fellow students, leadership, and passion. I do not want to be a secretary that just sits down and writes notes; I want to make sure that I am reaching the student body as a whole and inspire them to take action. Passion is not something you should talk about, it is something that you show and I want to show the student body my passion through being the secretary.

 

Leave a Reply

