Kenny Sharpe leads Lions in Home Opener Success

By Antoine Aluqdah

In the first home game of the season, the Lincoln University Lions defeated the University Of Sciences Devils 64-52.

Kenny Sharpe led the way with a team high of 19 points.

Senior guard Kenny Sharpe said, “tonight I just let the game come to me. When I take my time, I feel like I have a better game and tonight proved that.”

For the first time in the Lions early season, they went into halftime with the lead 33-26 and were shooting 43 percent from the field.

With just over six minutes left in the game the Devils went on a run to pull within two points of the Lions.

After a 30 second timeout Coach Hill put George Jackson, who struggled from the field in the first half only making one shot, back in the game.

Jackson wound up taking over the game scoring eight of the lions final 17 points.

Jackson, a junior guard said, “coach told me to go ahead and play my game. I seen my man guarding me playing off the ball. So I took advantage of his soft defense.”

For the first time since joining Division II the Lions are 2-0 this season.

“We knew coming into this season our potential, said Sharpe. We just had to let everyone else see us play.”

Leave a Reply

